Raven Catches the Sun

IMG_5164[1]

“Raven Catches the Sun” (Digitally altered photo M. Hedgecock)

Untitled

When he is close, my spirit soars.
A visceral pull, I can’t ignore.
Now Raven lands with a raspy caw.
His strong beak picks at a scaly claw.

My eyes squint in the winter sun,
As bright as the mind of this desert son.
According to his ancient story
Black feathers singed by fiery glory.

I watch him stretch his charcoal wing,
What gift today, do you have to bring?
He cocks his head and speaks to me
My story! He caws quite wildly,

The day I was the clever one,
Who flew close enough to catch the sun.
The day I brought light to everyone.
Now, forever marked as the darkened one.

 

.MH.

 

 

MH2016

This entry was published on August 1, 2016 at 10:27 PM. It’s filed under Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Raven Catches the Sun

  1. Really adore the photo and the poem is wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the photo…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nancy on said:

    So talent little niece and now more poetry…… Love!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

