All I Really Need To Know, I Learned From Bigfoot

 

"Midnight Squatchy" doodle by Michelle Hedgecock

“Midnight Squatchy” doodle by Michelle Hedgecock

There are days when I’m a believer and days I’m a skeptic.  For example, I want to believe beings like Bigfoot exist.  They represent mystery, being open to new ideas, spirituality, harmony with nature, reclusive habits, invisibility, and spirit beings. Yet, if they were actually ever found to be real, in the sense and proof we’d expect as an actual “Bigfoot,” then I truly worry for its fate.

I could say all I really need to know, I learned from Bigfoot, in that the days I’m a believer or a skeptic applies to believing in myself and my abilities, even when I can’t see it in me.  Some days are easier than others to see a clear path to my dreams, to make them unfold, to stay on track with whatever goal I’ve put to challenge.  On days I don’t believe in myself, I truly worry for my own fate.  Those are the days I grow uninspired, bummed out and unproductive.

My belief in Bigfoot and the like is alive in the crevices of the unknown and the unproven, the questionable evidence and mystery that piggy-back each of those enthusiastic findings.  For me, believing in Bigfoot makes the world an exciting and magical place. It speaks to adventure and imagination and invites mystery, experiences, and wonder into my daily realm.  To prove or disprove requires credible research, thorough and honest knowledge of the sounds and plausibility of the natural world and the capabilities of real ecosystems.  Believing in myself also requires deep and meaningful self-exploration and an intimate, honest knowledge of my environment and capabilities. It also requires a certain willingness and respect to venture into unknown territory, outside my daily realm–just like a Bigfoot enthusiast.

Believer or not, what draws me to the idea of Bigfoot are really the lessons such a creature can teach in the value (and power) of believing in our own potential. All I need to know, I learned from Bigfoot; like becoming a fluid part of the environment, a contributing, useful component versus a disruptive force. As in recognizing and going with my strengths.

Bigfoot can teach us about staying one step ahead of whatever or whomever is trying to capture our spirit–a reminder to protect ourselves against negative critics while applying decisions that are important to our growth.  Bigfoot asks us to believe in something we cannot see, but instead feel–by trusting our own intuition, our earned instincts.  We are asked to awaken our primal impulses, good for a little risk taking.  Bigfoot also teaches us patience for things we do not yet fully understand or appreciate, as well as compassion for ourselves–our elusive parts that exist in our peripheral, mysterious ways.

Most Bigfoot accounts share similar experiences and Bigfoot behavior from a great variety of people with equally varied backgrounds and credibility. Yet based on their believed truths, one can attribute this teaching: Bigfoot invites us to pursue our greatest potential with both curiosity and caution, along with “a bit of bravery” while confronting our fears.

That is something I can believe in.

What mysterious creatures captivate your imagination? How do they guide you?

 

*  *  *

MH

 

This entry was published on June 11, 2015 at 4:28 PM. It’s filed under Art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “All I Really Need To Know, I Learned From Bigfoot

  1. sasfootbigquatch on said:

    Reblogged this on Armchair Bigfooter.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Laura on said:

    I remain a believer in all things fantasy….I remember when I was told Santa doesn’t exist, that a little part of me still wanted to believe. It seemed like I was expected to leave behind the wonder and anticipation of childhood ….and who wants to do that? To completely trade in the wide eyed wonder for the stark reality of adulthood? I choose to keep that innocence and excitement alive. There is much mystery and awe in the world….in nature, especially, and I choose to discover something special about each day. Santa, the Easter Bunny, the Loch Ness Monster, Bigfoot, UFOs ….isn’t it better to live with just a little bit of wonder and mystery? Everything’s more fun that wat!

    Liked by 1 person

    • So well said and I totally agree! Being an adult should include the best of our childhood too, including keeping that part of being open to things of wonder and mystery. I think it might encourage well rounded thinking, something needed in anyone who seeks answers to these things.

      Thank goodness nature continues to surprise us with species we’ve never seen before and weird sights and sounds we’ve yet to explain. Those things excite me too! Thank you for sharing 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

