Roadrunner Poem

"The Gift." (Acrylic on mini-canvas, 2" x 4"  M. Hedgecock.)

“The Gift.” (Acrylic on mini-canvas, 2″ x 4″ M. Hedgecock.)

Roadrunner

A cuckoo bird that lives for speed,
With your shaggy crest, what a site indeed.
Streaked feathers break up your silhouette.
And your unusual track, not your typical set.

A blue and orange patch behind your eyes,
You prefer to chase prey, instead of fly.
Your expressive long tail flips here and there…
Quail chicks and k-rats best beware.

It’s true, I often see you running about,
With a limp lizard’s tail hanging from your mouth,
Some have witnessed your familiar antics,
taunting rattlesnakes, eagles, and hairy arachnids.

But my favorite three things have to be,
Your curiosity each time you encounter me,
And how you turn your back to the sun for its heat
(like a tiny matador, feathers erect and sleek).

Finally, I think I must surely admit
That trickster track—your zygodactyl footprint!
How do I know which way you are going?
With two toes facing forward and the back two, back-going.

It doesn’t matter much to me you will see
I just look for the “X” in the sand to guide me.
On the trail of a friend, a cuckoo I know
the Greater Roadrunner, always running, on the go.

MH•2012

 

 

 

This entry was published on March 24, 2015 at 11:14 PM. It’s filed under Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Roadrunner Poem

  1. I must bow down to anyone who could get the word zygodactyl in a poem!

    Like

  2. Nancy Salvatierra on said:

    Love the painting…..fun poem too!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

