Recycling For Alternative Canvases

“Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength, while loving someone deeply gives you courage.” ~ Lao Tzu (Acrylic w/Sharpie handwriting on recycled jeans by Michelle Hedgecock.) Click image to enlarge. 

As a teen I remember writing and drawing on my jeans.  Bored and armed with a blue Papermate, I would draw anything from band logos to arrows, to writing initials and phrases embellished by hearts, checkerboard patterns, stars, and other doodles down and around my seams.  Fast forward a couple of decades when I participated in a prayer flag workshop.  We were asked to bring our own material to create our flags with, and what did I bring?  Cut up pieces of one of my husband’s old pair of jeans (with his okay, of course!).  You can check out those prayer flags here.

Most recently I turned an old pair of my jeans into cut-offs and decided to cut up the legs into smaller sections yet again. With a little Gesso for prep, I have been recycling these scraps into alternative “artsy” canvases. I decided to keep the bottom hem of the legs intact on some pieces, in order to thread a smooth stick or an old paint brush through for hanging.

I also like to use the small scraps for mini-canvases like the two below. These little guys are great for releases (Creative Release Project) and my “scrap bin” during art shows and festivals.

Acrylic on recycled jeans. 2-1/2" x 5"

Acrylic on recycled jeans. 2-1/2″ x 5″

"Let us always meet each other with a smile, for the smile is the beginning of love."  - Mother Teresa  (Acrylic on recycled jeans, 4" x 3-1/2")

“Let us always meet each other with a smile, for the smile is the beginning of love.” – Mother Teresa
(Acrylic on recycled jeans, 4″ x  3-1/2″)

What are some of your favorite recycled materials you like to work with?

 

*  *  *

This entry was published on March 18, 2015 at 10:18 AM. It’s filed under Art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Recycling For Alternative Canvases

  1. Old dolls….I like to make them into something quite unlike the innocent playthings they once were!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

