Raven Totem In A Bottle

I’m a collector of anything old and glass so it’s safe to say I usually have of few of those tiny bottles stashed about my art space. I like using them in my assemblage pieces, they are great for creating curios, or as built in mini-vases, but my favorite thing to do with them is creating my version of a message in a bottle.

I’ve experimented with a couple of different ways to reveal a message in a bottle, but using beads has to be my new favorite. For this little bottle I decided to play with found poetry on these great black and white, chunky ceramic African beads. I’ve had the raven bead for a while and I wanted to use it as my grasping bead.

Lifting the raven up reveals a found poem inside which reads, “I was a mystery, something untapped. A brave example.

The stacked nature of the beads reminded me of a totem pole. More so, raven is an insightful animal totem or guide, which the poem could easily be speaking to as well.

Does its message speak to you today?

*  *  *

Materials: found bottle, ceramic beads, raven bead, soda can.

If you’d like to see more messages in bottles (and some curious creatures), please visit my Flickr album, “Bottled Art!” Thank you 🙂

 

 

 

This entry was published on July 18, 2014 at 1:33 AM. It’s filed under Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

12 thoughts on “Raven Totem In A Bottle

  1. Hi, Michelle, just wanted to let you know that I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award–accepting is completely optional 🙂 http://aboutwhatmatters.wordpress.com/2014/07/27/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    Like

    • Heather, thank you for thinking of me for this cool award! I loved reading your seven interesting things people didn’t know about you–so fun! I shall start thinking of 7 things people don’t know about me and carry on the tradition of sharing two of my favorite bloggers here as well (I can see why you were nominated, and very happy you accepted!) 🙂

      Like

      • You’re welcome, Michelle, glad you think it’s fun too 🙂 I love seeing people’s seven interesting things–looking forward to yours! Btw, you can nominate up to 15.

        Like

  2. Fascinating.

    Like

  3. Yes, a spine! I love it….and I love a mystery!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. To me, the beads look just like a spine 🙂 I like it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. mayor5 on said:

    very creative post there….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

