Seeking Peace

"Seeking Peace"Today is the Winter Solstice. In just an hour or two, I will be celebrating with my son and my husband as we go get our tree, and share in a couple of Buddhist holiday traditions while  honoring the solstice.

The Winter Solstice is dominated by darkness as the shortest day/longest night, bringing appreciation for the warmth and light of the Sun that all beings need to survive. Symbolizing a time of death and rebirth, sleep and awakening, darkness and light, of loss and suffering and the human light that brings healing.  It is a time of reflection and the welcoming of the sun, the return of the light. In nature, there is  quiet rest preparing for new beginnings.

In the week since the Sandy Hook elementary school tragedy, it is certain I will be thinking of our precious human life, grateful that I can hold my son (my light)  in my arms another day. It is certain I will  hold compassion and love in my heart for the many lives that are forever changed.  It is certain I will be spinning the prayer wheel releasing compassion and healing peace into the darkness. Peace for all sentient beings. It is certain that I will be thinking of our sweet, sweet Bella, our huge black dog, another life cut short. It is certain that we will be thankful to share in this winter holiday celebrating light.

And with light *enlightenment* comes peace and that is my wish for you on this day that the world did not end. A day when PEACE began a new day through an exchange of peaceful prayers, thoughts, wishes, and actions. A day when PEACE touched more people than ever before. That is great beginning.

This entry was published on December 21, 2012 at 2:48 PM. It’s filed under Art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Seeking Peace

  1. Beautifully written….thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

