Creativity Secrets From Nature

I love this doube heart rock my mom brought back from a trip up the northern Californian coast. I am always looking for hearts in nature, along with other common shapes; faces too, and letters. They are little serendipitus gifts from Nature that seem like offerings to connect to my little world when I am always seeking to connect to hers.
*
Whether it’s the search or the actual finds that delight, it is always a treat to make these discoveries of the “familiar” in a sometimes less than familiar environment. I believe these discoveries are a secret connection with something special (“just for you”), one of those magical ways in which Nature can appear as a most unexpected muse or comfort.
*
The next time you are creatively blocked, stop struggling to find your muse within and instead, go out(side). This is what I do. I go outdoors and take that same time I would’ve lost spent in frustration and I look for my secret “gift” while working in my yard (something I like doing). Yours may be waiting for you at night or during the day, in the rain, on a beach, or on an ancient trail. It may come in the form of a unique rock, a coyote’s howl, an owl in flight, a raindrop on your ear, or possibly a found feather. Mine often comes through lizards and birds, and weather like rain or wind.
*
You’ll know it when you experience it. Once you find it, carry it through somehow into your next creative project as a thank you to Nature.
*
*
Heart rock image: ©Michelle Hedgecock
This entry was published on March 21, 2012 at 8:00 AM. It’s filed under Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Creativity Secrets From Nature

  1. Pingback: Healing Heart Stone | Michelle Hedgecock

Leave a Reply

